top of page

8 Ways to Be Queen B - Blair Waldorf!


Good morning upper east siders! Looking for the perfect school morning routine? Well, lucky you, B's got you covered.



1. Always have a good brekkie.


Eating breakfast on the stairs of the Metropolitan Museum. You probably know the many benefits of eating a healthy breakfast in the morning, but I feel like stressing the importance of what’s the first thing you put in your body after a long night of sleep.


In order to be on your A game, you need to keep your body and mind in check. Eating breakfast can help boost your fiber and calcium intake and help you from eating or over consuming food as you move throughout your day. According to “Nutrition Australia”, eating breakfast helps restore your glycogen stores, help kickstart your metabolism.


Here are small breakfast ideas to help get you started:



2. Clean up your social media.


It’s time to come to clean up your mind and set the right attention for the beginning of the year. Blair Waldorf would follow people who inspire her and her dream career. She won’t follow someone who she doesn’t like, and she won't follow people who have a negative effect on her mental health. In Blair Waldorf’s time, there were flip phones and blogs, now we have a vast amount of social media platforms that have AI systems that help us find the media we enjoy the most. So who you follow is important because the more you interact with their content, the more similar content you’ll be faced with.

This also means scheduling days where you don’t go on social media, for a full day. This could help reset your mind, take a closer look at your surroundings and personally, it helps me escape for a minute. When I’m looking at my monthly calendar, I like to schedule either a Wednesday or Sunday as a reset day and that’s where I also schedule in my, no social media days.


3. Reorganize your wardrobe


I feel like this is a must for anyone, whether it be starting a new job, new semester, entering a new school or whatever. Blair would buy a whole new wardrobe, a new dress, a new assembly when it comes to life changing events like the one we’re about to experience.


To be clear, I’m not saying get a new wardrobe, with fast fashion and microtrends and all that junk, I would say to take a look at your wardrobe and find ways to revamp them. I am a sucker for DIY projects and I love cutting, gluing and sewing my old shirts into crop tops and skirts. My favorite youtuber who does little projects like these are Nava Rose, but you can definitely find more tutorials on youtube and tiktok!


Here are some of my favorites by Nava Rose:






One of my other shows was the Carrie Diaries (short lived but I still loved it), taught me the importance of packing away old seasonal outfits when switching seasons. Carrie and her mother constantly used to donate their clothes after one season. Her dad suggested Carrie to pack her clothes away and not donate EVERYTHING. Which gave me the idea of storing my old clothes and it is exhilarating.


I have a huge box waiting for me to open, filled with my fall and winter clothes and every time I open a new season box, it’s like the pieces are brand new.

One thing about fashion is that a trend always comes back around, and if you’re part of a sub fashion group, it’s much easier because you’re not focused on trends.


4. Put together an emergency bag.


Blair Waldorf has everything she needs on the tips of her fingers. She has everything she needs at the tips of her fingers. Her favorite lip color, emergency hair ties, safety pins and a whole array of things.

I love emergency bags because I get to have cute mini’s, and colors match everything to look cohesive. I’m pretty sure alot of you already know what to put in your emergency bag but here’s a list anyway:

  • Deodorant

  • Pads

  • Extra underwear

  • Bobby pins

  • Hair ties

  • Lip gloss/ lip balm

  • Your favorite mini scent

  • Mini dry shampoo

  • Safety pins

  • Lotion

  • Cute earrings that go with every outfit

  • Blotting paper

You could also have a day, like once in a month, to refill, clean and maybe even change some of the things in your items. Blair is organized and keeps herself clean and organized and can handle any situation that is handed in her way.


5. Pinterest board for everything!


Pinterest is an app to help plan for future events and give inspo. It’s hard not to believe that if Blair Waldorf was in our generation, she would have some of the coolest boards regarding her style, her future parties, her dream career, and more.

Create a Pinterest board for the goals and aspirations for the year to come. It’s almost a form of manifestation, you can physically see what you could potentially achieve if you keep working at it.

Use a pinterest board to create your new wallpaper, plan out your next instagram captions, or search for the new up coming trends.


Here is Mahajabeen’s mood board, and you can find the attic moodboard here



6. Curate a playlist!


A killer playlist is a must! There’s nothing like getting in a mood to eat croissants and get straight A’s. There’s something about listening to some “La Vie en Rose” while putting on liquid blush and eating a croissant in the morning.

Some tips for your playlist:

  • Try to find your favorite celebs or influencer’s playlist

    • There’s a reason you follow them, whether it be for motivation, aesthetic, or whatever. You can often find your new favorite song there

  • Go through your tiktok saved sounds

    • I know I am not the only one who creates a playlist and its 80% trending tiktok sounds that I’ve heard in a makeup tutorial or whatever

  • Go crazy with the name of your playlist

    • I have openly shared one of my playlist but I have some fun names for my playlist to get with every mood I’m in.


7. Figure out an organization system.

There’s a reason why Blair Waldorf is able to throw lavish sleepovers, get straight A’s, scheme, and somehow look perfect in every angle, and it’s because she is an organizational queen.

Now living in this generation, there are multiple organization systems you can use. There is Notion, bullet journaling, weekly planners, and traditional notebooks. Prepare whatever organizational system that works for you, and practice using it.

I personally use Notion to help keep my work life balance and now I’m in the middle of preparing my school templates and more.


Here are some youtube videos to help you started:



8. Find your signature.


In true fashion, Blair Waldorf had a signature look that would set her apart from the rest of the crowd, even when going to an elite private school where everyone is wearing matching outfits. Blair Waldorf has a signature headband and her preppy style that distinguishes her out of the crowd. Not only is it convenient but it helps you feel like yourself.


Imagine: running late, can’t find an outfit, nothing seems to have a place, and there’s only 10 min on the clock.

You spray your signature perfume, hair clip, you grab the bag that goes with every outfit, you put on your signature lip gloss and the jewelry that everyone asks where you got it from and BAM you’re all set to get to class.



Having some everyday things that help distinguish who you are, is important because you won’t always have the time to see if your jewelry goes with your outfit, or to try a new hairdo and do clean makeup. Having a signature look can help save time, keep you looking good and make you feel confident in what you wear.

 

This article was brought to you by Mahajabeen, a dear friend of the attic diaries and ethical jewelry store. Shop Mahajabeen's pieces here.

bottom of page