top of page

Splash & Stone

I want you to know that when you gaze upon water, it gazes back. It learns you, pattern by pattern, eyes nose lips, words words words. Yes, this is another note on the vastness of my element, yes, this is another encapsulation of rage. Be like water, flow and ebb, learn and let go; let go, let go, let go.


The majority of me spills back and forth between learning and letting go. I have a puddle in every blood woven part of me with some imprint of a face I've been shown before. Yes, I remember what you looked like when you cried, yes I remember what you looked like when you laughed, yes I remember what you looked like. I have learned. I have learned people after people like wave after wave, tides and droughts and misty mornings where you can't see in front of you but you know there must be something there.


When you gaze at the water, the water gazes back. Letting go is not the body’s job. Not mine, surely, not the lake’s, not the sea’s, not the ocean’s. Moving on, maybe, perhaps, possibly; to lurch forward, to seep into new soil, to drip, no matter how slow, to drip away into new vessels. There is no way to undo one’s resonance in one's eyes, soul, spirit. There is no way to undo what has been done. No way to erase in any capacity the faces you have shown; yes, you will be remembered. You will be stored, sometimes clinically sanitised or dangerously messy, you will be slotted into the waters. You will smell like chlorine from three summers ago or you will make crystal clear waters run murky. The buoyancy of your heart depends, depends, depends. Do you spill? Do you soak? Do you sink, swim, sulk?


Tears are bodies of water too. Small, maybe, but bodies nonetheless.


Words, words, words, water water water. People remember how you make them feel. This is set in splash and stone. Be wary of your words around water. Soaked blue, sun raged red - there are mirrors everywhere for those with reflections.


Keep the treasure of seashell secrets, letters in glass bottles… watch what you discard in places you deem pure. There is only so much the sea will swallow.



Recent Posts

See All

The Lake's Wish

they whisper to me, you know, they tell me when something disgusting bathes in them. the lakes wish you’d drown, the rivers rush past,...

bottom of page